Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Gluten by any other name

If you are trying to go the gluten free route, here are a few ingredients you might want to be wary of.

Natural Flavor: This doesn't always mean that there is gluten in a product, but often monosodium glutamate (MSG) is hidden under "Natural Flavors". MSG doesn't always contain gluten, but you need to watch for it to see if it specifies.

Monosodium glutamate: As listed above. If it doesn't specify that the MSG used is gluten free, be wary.

Emulsifiers: These are used as an egg replacer and can contain gluten.

Lectins (lechithin): These are made from the hull of a grain. Some of the grains used are safe, but this is another ingredient to be careful with.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011


Our sister (no pun intended) company, Sweet Sisters, site is up now! Le us know if there is something that you would like to see on it. (other than the inevitable right now, which is content)