Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Gluten by any other name

If you are trying to go the gluten free route, here are a few ingredients you might want to be wary of.

Natural Flavor: This doesn't always mean that there is gluten in a product, but often monosodium glutamate (MSG) is hidden under "Natural Flavors". MSG doesn't always contain gluten, but you need to watch for it to see if it specifies.

Monosodium glutamate: As listed above. If it doesn't specify that the MSG used is gluten free, be wary.

Emulsifiers: These are used as an egg replacer and can contain gluten.

Lectins (lechithin): These are made from the hull of a grain. Some of the grains used are safe, but this is another ingredient to be careful with.

1 comment:

  1. I love baking. I'm not gluten free, but I do try to avoid unhealthy additives.
    Thank you for sharing this!

    I am thankful to have come across your blog, and I pray the Lord will richly bless you.
    In Christ, Carra